Sunday, December 20, 2015

Book Review: Nightfall - Jake Halpern, Peter Kujawinski

Nightfall
The dark will bring your worst nightmares to light, in this gripping and eerie survival story, perfect for fans of James Dashner and Neil Gaiman.

On Marin's island, sunrise doesn't come every twenty-four hours--it comes every twenty-eight years.  Now the sun is just a sliver of light on the horizon.  The weather is turning cold and the shadows are growing long.

Because sunset triggers the tide to roll out hundreds of miles, the islanders are frantically preparing to sail south, where they will wait out the long Night.

Marin and her twin brother, Kana, help their anxious parents ready the house for departure.  Locks must be taken off doors.  Furniture must be arranged.  Tables must be set.  The rituals are puzzling--bizarre, even--but none of the adults in town will discuss why it has to be done this way.

Just as the ships are about to sail, a teenage boy goes missing--the twins' friend Line.  Marin and Kana are the only ones who know the truth about where Line's gone, and the only way to rescue him is by doing it themselves.  But Night is falling.  Their island is changing.

And it may already be too late.

2/5 stars (it was ok)
Maybe it's because I did not like Marin and she is the main character but I didn't think this book was that great.  I guessed why they had to do all those strange rituals.  I thought the book just kind of ended and I found myself satisfied enough with the ending that I don't need another book.


No comments:

Book Review: Into The Still Blue - Veronica Rossi

Into The Still Blue - Veronica Rossi The race to the Still Blue has reached a stalemate.  Aria and Perry are determined to find this la...