Tuesday, February 09, 2016

Book Review: Career of Evil - Robert Galbraith

Career of Evil (Cormoran Strike, #3)
Cormoran Strike is back, with his assistant Robin Ellacott, in a mystery based around soldiers returning form war.
When a mysterious package is delivered to Robin Ellacott, she is horrified to discover that it contains a woman's severed leg.
Her boss, private detective Cormoran Strike, is less surprised but no less alarmed.  There are four people from his past who he thinks could be responsible--and Strike knows that any one of them is capable of sustained and unspeakable brutality.
With the police focusing on the one suspect Strike is increasingly sure not the perpetrator, he and Robin take matters into their own hands, and delve into the dark and twisted worlds of the other three men.  But as more horrendous acts occur, time is running out for the two of them...

3/5 stars (liked it)
I really liked the first book, second book was not as good, then this one was good.  I loved the tension between Robin and Cormoran.  I really liked that we got into the killer's head.  Also the ending, OMG now I really want to read the next one.  I still really dislike Matthew and this book really affirmed my opinion of him.

Monday, January 25, 2016

Book Review: Sharp Objects - Gillian Flynn

Sharp Objects
WICKED above her hipbone, GIRL across her heart 
Words are like a road map to reporter Camille Preaker’s troubled past. Fresh from a brief stay at a psych hospital, Camille’s first assignment from the second-rate daily paper where she works brings her reluctantly back to her hometown to cover the murders of two preteen girls.

NASTY on her kneecap, BABYDOLL on her leg 
Since she left town eight years ago, Camille has hardly spoken to her neurotic, hypochondriac mother or to the half-sister she barely knows: a beautiful thirteen-year-old with an eerie grip on the town. Now, installed again in her family’s Victorian mansion, Camille is haunted by the childhood tragedy she has spent her whole life trying to cut from her memory.

HARMFUL on her wrist, WHORE on her ankle As Camille works to uncover the truth about these violent crimes, she finds herself identifying with the young victims—a bit too strongly. Clues keep leading to dead ends, forcing Camille to unravel the psychological puzzle of her own past to get at the story. Dogged by her own demons, Camille will have to confront what happened to her years before if she wants to survive this homecoming.

With its taut, crafted writing, Sharp Objects is addictive, haunting, and unforgettable. 

2/5 stars (it was ok)
Not one of my favorite Gillian Flynn books.  This book is full of unlikable characters with severe mental problems.  This includes everyone in the town, the cops and the kids.  I did not care for Camille.  Also I felt the book dragged a little and then it gets to the end and things are just rushed.






Friday, January 15, 2016

Book Review: Blood Kiss - J.R. Ward

Blood Kiss (Black Dagger Legacy, #1)
The legacy of the Black Dagger Brotherhood continues in a spin-off series from the #1 New York Times bestselling author...

Paradise, blooded daughter of the king's First Adviser, is ready to break free from the restrictive life of an aristocratic female.  Her strategy?  Join the Black Dagger Brotherhood's training center program and learn to fight for herself, think for herself...be herself.  It's a good plan, until everything goes wrong.  The schooling is unfathomably difficult, the other recruits feel more like enemies than allies, and it's very clear that the Brother in charge, Butch O'Neal, a.k.a. the Dhestroyer, is having serious problems in his own life.

And that's before she falls in love with a fellow classmate, Craeg, a common civilian, is nothing her father would ever want for her, but everything she could ask for in a male.  As an act of violence threatens to tear apart the entire program, and the erotic pull between them grows irresistible, Paradise is tested in ways she never anticipated--and left wondering whether she's strong enough to claim her own power...on the field, and off.

4/5 stars (really liked it)
I actually really liked Paradise from the beginning.  She grew up in a privileged life but doesn't see herself as above anyone, even those below her class.  I love how even though this story is about Paradise we still see the brothers, even if it's mainly Butch and Marissa.  I kind of miss seeing the rest of them.  Oh and Fritz is always great as is Lassiter.  Lassiter needs to have his own spin-off series!  I am wondering if this series will have a different female lead in the next book or still follow Paradise.

Thursday, January 14, 2016

Book Review: Dangerous Lies - Becca Fitzpatrick

Dangerous Lies
Stella Gordon's life is a lie.

She does not belong in Thunder Basin, Nebraska.  As the star witness in a murder trial against a drug dealer, Stella is now in the Witness Protection Program.  The small-town locals can never know who she really is.  Not even Chet Falconer, the one boy who makes her want to reveal her true self.  She knows that telling the truth will only bring violence to this safe haven.

Despite how hard Stella tries to stay under the radar, danger is fast approaching.  Criminals have a way of getting rid of witnesses, and Stella may have made the one mistake that could lead the col-blooded men hunting for her right to her doorstep.

3/5 stars (liked it)
I did not like Stella at first but grew to like her by the end.  I actually liked all the other characters in Thunder Basin.  I wish we had also gotten the point of view of Reed, the boyfriend she left back home.  I also would have liked to know more about Carmina as she seemed like a really interesting character.  I did not see the end coming when the truth comes out.

Sunday, December 20, 2015

Book Review: Unspoken - C.C. Hunter

Unspoken (Shadow Falls: After Dark, #3)
Despite her superhuman strength and enhanced senses, Della Tsang's life as a vampire certainly hasn't been easy.  Especially since she was reborn and bound to the mysterious, infuriating, and gorgeous Chase Tallman.
But if there's one thing that's always kept Della going, it's  her dream of being an elite paranormal investigator.  Her newest case is the opportunity she's been waiting for, but as Della tries to solve the twenty year old murder and clear her father's name.  She uncovers secrets about the vampire council.  And about Chase.
Feeling betrayed by all the secrets he's kept hidden from her, Della is determined to keep him as far away from her heart as she can.  But she'll need his help to solve the case that will lead them into the darkest and ugliest vampire gangs in town and into the scariest reaches of her heart.

4/5 stars (really liked it)
Sometimes I wanted to smack Della and sometimes I wanted to smack Chase.  And sometimes I just wanted to smack both of them at the same time.  This book was everything I expected and more.  I absolutely love Della.  Although I still say there need to be at least one book about Burnett and what he was like as a young vampire.  I love all the characters in this series and I really hope that there are more coming!

Book Review: Nightfall - Jake Halpern, Peter Kujawinski

Nightfall
The dark will bring your worst nightmares to light, in this gripping and eerie survival story, perfect for fans of James Dashner and Neil Gaiman.

On Marin's island, sunrise doesn't come every twenty-four hours--it comes every twenty-eight years.  Now the sun is just a sliver of light on the horizon.  The weather is turning cold and the shadows are growing long.

Because sunset triggers the tide to roll out hundreds of miles, the islanders are frantically preparing to sail south, where they will wait out the long Night.

Marin and her twin brother, Kana, help their anxious parents ready the house for departure.  Locks must be taken off doors.  Furniture must be arranged.  Tables must be set.  The rituals are puzzling--bizarre, even--but none of the adults in town will discuss why it has to be done this way.

Just as the ships are about to sail, a teenage boy goes missing--the twins' friend Line.  Marin and Kana are the only ones who know the truth about where Line's gone, and the only way to rescue him is by doing it themselves.  But Night is falling.  Their island is changing.

And it may already be too late.

2/5 stars (it was ok)
Maybe it's because I did not like Marin and she is the main character but I didn't think this book was that great.  I guessed why they had to do all those strange rituals.  I thought the book just kind of ended and I found myself satisfied enough with the ending that I don't need another book.


Tuesday, December 01, 2015

Book Review: Dark Places - Gillian Flynn

Dark Places
Libby Day was just seven years old when her older brother massacred her family while she hid in the cupboard.  Her evidence helped put him away.  Ever since then she has been drifting, surviving for over 20 years on the proceeds of the 'Libby Day Fund'.  But now the money is running out and Libby is desperate.  When she is offered $500 to do a guest appearance, she feels she has to accept.  But this is no ordinary gathering.  The Kill Club is a group of true-crime obsessives who share information on notorious murders, and they think her brother Ben is innocent.

Ben was a social misfit, ground down by the small-town farming community in which he lived.  But he did have a girlfriend - a brooding heavy metal fan called Diondra.  Through her, Ben became involved with drugs and the dark arts.  When the town suddenly turned against him, his thoughts turned black.  But was he capable of murder?  Libby must delve into her family's past to uncover the truth - no matter how painful...

3/5 stars (liked it)
This book has a lot of people that are not totally innocent.  The books goes back and forth between characters (mostly Libby, Ben and Patty) and time (the day of the murders and present day).  We learn things about Libby and what her life is like now.  She basically has never learned to take care of herself and was not grateful to those who did take care of her.  Also we see what Ben was like as a kid and what he is like now.  I did not see how the events would unfold and I like how all the pieces fell into place.

Sunday, November 22, 2015

Book Review: The Grownup - Gillian Flynn

The Grownup
A canny young woman is struggling to survive by perpetrating various levels of mostly harmless fraud.  On a rainy April morning, she is reading auras at Spiritual Palms when Susan Burke walks in.  A keen observer of human behavior, our unnamed narrator immediately diagnoses beautiful, rich Susan as an unhappy woman eager to give her lovely life a drama injection.  However, when the "psychic" visits the eerie Victorian home that has been the source of Susan's terror and grief, she realizes she may not have to pretend to believe in ghosts anymore.  Miles, Susan's teenage stepson, doesn't help matters with his disturbing manner and grisly imagination.  The three are soon locked in a chilling battle to discover where the evil truly lurks and what, if anything, can be done to escape it.

3/5 stars (liked it)
This is so much more than a ghost story.  Its creepy and even though it was a short story I feel like I got a whole story.  I felt like I knew the main character so well and we don't even learn her name.  I thought the Victorian house was creepy.  The ending was so unexpected, either scenario presented at the end was believable.