Sunday, December 20, 2015

Book Review: Unspoken - C.C. Hunter

Unspoken (Shadow Falls: After Dark, #3)
Despite her superhuman strength and enhanced senses, Della Tsang's life as a vampire certainly hasn't been easy.  Especially since she was reborn and bound to the mysterious, infuriating, and gorgeous Chase Tallman.
But if there's one thing that's always kept Della going, it's  her dream of being an elite paranormal investigator.  Her newest case is the opportunity she's been waiting for, but as Della tries to solve the twenty year old murder and clear her father's name.  She uncovers secrets about the vampire council.  And about Chase.
Feeling betrayed by all the secrets he's kept hidden from her, Della is determined to keep him as far away from her heart as she can.  But she'll need his help to solve the case that will lead them into the darkest and ugliest vampire gangs in town and into the scariest reaches of her heart.

4/5 stars (really liked it)
Sometimes I wanted to smack Della and sometimes I wanted to smack Chase.  And sometimes I just wanted to smack both of them at the same time.  This book was everything I expected and more.  I absolutely love Della.  Although I still say there need to be at least one book about Burnett and what he was like as a young vampire.  I love all the characters in this series and I really hope that there are more coming!

Book Review: Nightfall - Jake Halpern, Peter Kujawinski

Nightfall
The dark will bring your worst nightmares to light, in this gripping and eerie survival story, perfect for fans of James Dashner and Neil Gaiman.

On Marin's island, sunrise doesn't come every twenty-four hours--it comes every twenty-eight years.  Now the sun is just a sliver of light on the horizon.  The weather is turning cold and the shadows are growing long.

Because sunset triggers the tide to roll out hundreds of miles, the islanders are frantically preparing to sail south, where they will wait out the long Night.

Marin and her twin brother, Kana, help their anxious parents ready the house for departure.  Locks must be taken off doors.  Furniture must be arranged.  Tables must be set.  The rituals are puzzling--bizarre, even--but none of the adults in town will discuss why it has to be done this way.

Just as the ships are about to sail, a teenage boy goes missing--the twins' friend Line.  Marin and Kana are the only ones who know the truth about where Line's gone, and the only way to rescue him is by doing it themselves.  But Night is falling.  Their island is changing.

And it may already be too late.

2/5 stars (it was ok)
Maybe it's because I did not like Marin and she is the main character but I didn't think this book was that great.  I guessed why they had to do all those strange rituals.  I thought the book just kind of ended and I found myself satisfied enough with the ending that I don't need another book.


Tuesday, December 01, 2015

Book Review: Dark Places - Gillian Flynn

Dark Places
Libby Day was just seven years old when her older brother massacred her family while she hid in the cupboard.  Her evidence helped put him away.  Ever since then she has been drifting, surviving for over 20 years on the proceeds of the 'Libby Day Fund'.  But now the money is running out and Libby is desperate.  When she is offered $500 to do a guest appearance, she feels she has to accept.  But this is no ordinary gathering.  The Kill Club is a group of true-crime obsessives who share information on notorious murders, and they think her brother Ben is innocent.

Ben was a social misfit, ground down by the small-town farming community in which he lived.  But he did have a girlfriend - a brooding heavy metal fan called Diondra.  Through her, Ben became involved with drugs and the dark arts.  When the town suddenly turned against him, his thoughts turned black.  But was he capable of murder?  Libby must delve into her family's past to uncover the truth - no matter how painful...

3/5 stars (liked it)
This book has a lot of people that are not totally innocent.  The books goes back and forth between characters (mostly Libby, Ben and Patty) and time (the day of the murders and present day).  We learn things about Libby and what her life is like now.  She basically has never learned to take care of herself and was not grateful to those who did take care of her.  Also we see what Ben was like as a kid and what he is like now.  I did not see how the events would unfold and I like how all the pieces fell into place.

Book Review: Into The Still Blue - Veronica Rossi

Into The Still Blue - Veronica Rossi The race to the Still Blue has reached a stalemate.  Aria and Perry are determined to find this la...